Code Tip: Removing Children from a MovieClip

I used to remove children of a movieclip like this:

for ( var i:int = 0; i < myMovie.numChildren; i ++ )
{
myMovie.removeChildAt ( i );
}

But it becomes problematic if myMovie has children placed all over the container without having any control over the depth at all. Since the approach mentioned above uses depth as its primary source of identification, it is difficult to get all the objects present within if the developer loses control over depth of each child element (ok I admit, I did that 🙂 and I complicated it for myself). So there was a point I was thinking that ok I made a mistake, just clear up my container movieclip.

Then I recently found out that removing all children from a movieclip can also be done through a while loop like this:

while ( myMovie.numChildren )
{
myMovie.removeChildAt ( 0 );
}

Boom. We are done. End of story.

Code Tip: Removing Children from a MovieClip

Leave a Reply

