Home > ActionScript, Flash, Project > The National – Infograph Facebook Application

The National – Infograph Facebook Application

I finally got an opportunity to work with the Facebook ActionScript API. Though, at first, everything look quite confusing and all over the place but I eventually got the application working. The funny thing however is that the final application I was able to develop does not use the ActionScript API instead I ended up using Javascript API. Why?

Facebook Actionscript API is good and it has its advantages but the thing that is really annoying is its login process. Since the session is meant to be created and handled within flash; there is no way it can know if the user is already logged-in and thus already has a session; unless used javascript. This is where you see new windows opening up just to give you a message saying “You can now close this window” (which technically makes sense but to a user it is a WTF! moment).

At this point, my application was ready and I had sent around a test link to colleagues. Everything was working but then my peers started asking me that why does that window opens up even if they were already logged-in etc and I was not able to explain them what exactly was happening.

So then I started googling, trying to find a better way and soon found out that setting up the connect process in javascript is a better option even for flash applications. Though, there are a number of solutions out there to get you started using the Javascript API I am mentioning but I ended up using Philip Bulley’s solution.

Overall, it was a good experience for me to get started in the Facebook world of development. Take a look at what I’ve been able to create.

  1. September 7, 2010 at 2:43 am

    At this point, my application was ready and I had sent around a test link to colleagues. Everything was working but then my peers started asking me that why does that window opens up even if they were already logged-in etc and I was not able to explain them what exactly was happening.
    +1

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

